Thursday, April 10, 2008

Food chain/Pyramid

The food guide pyramid was the previous nutritional guide (created at Tufts University School of Medicine) of the USDA, replaced in April 2005 by the new USDA nutrition advisory program titled "MyPyramid".

The base of the pyramid is the bread & grains group. According to this pyramid, a healthy diet contains six to eleven servings of a breads & grains per day.

Some versions pyramids include fruit and vegetables in a single group, others split them into two groups. With fruits, a cup of fruit or fruit juice, or a half-cup of dried fruit counts as a serving. Recommendations are one to two servings of fruit each day.

This of milk and dairy includes milk (including lactose-free), yogurt, cheese and other variations of this type of product. About three servings per day is the recommended amount. A typical serving of dairy would be a cup of milk or yogurt, 1½ ounces of natural cheese or two ounces of processed cheese.

Meat and beans group contains meat, poultry, fish, eggs, nuts and dried beans. Choosing low-fat cuts of meat and poultry are key to a healthy diet. Five to six ounces of mean and beans each day is the recommended daily intake for this group.

The highest level of the food pyramid is the oils and fats level. While there are different types of oils and fats, this food group should be the smallest portion of a healthy diet. General recommendations are five to seven teaspoons of fats or oils per day; not very much. An ounce of nuts, such as peanuts or almonds, contains three teaspoons of oil. A tablespoon of mayonnaise contains about two and a half teaspoons.

1 comment:

shinoyan said...

A site is the wonderful site that I had a look at.
Please link with me mutually.

Thanks for reaching this blog. If you feel this is useful please Stumble, Digg or Bookmark it.